Teaching Artist Studio Schedule

Teaching Artist Aaron Nigel Smith leads cohort members in song making activity
Teaching Artist Aaron Nigel Smith leads cohort members in song making activity

Application Timeline

Friday, July 14, 2022 Application cycle opens
Monday, August 15, 2022 Applications due by 5 pm PST
Tuesday, September 6, 2022 Notification of accepted participants

Calendar Overview

CORE COURSE

November-December 2022; April 2023

These are days of intensive study to help align artistic practices and teaching practices. Sessions are planned to be hosted on Zoom. Daily work will include group discussions, arts activities, analysis, and presentations from guest speakers and panelists relating to the multi-faceted work of a teaching artist. There will be one to two hours of work outside of the group meetings each week.

COHORT MEETINGS

December 2022-March 2023

These monthly, peer-led sessions will be a time to reflect on concepts from the core course and further develop your teaching practice in a community setting. Zoom meetings will be set up by YA, but leadership, specific topic areas, and times of day for each meeting will be determined by the cohort.

STUDIO RESIDENCY

January-March 2023

For this optional portion of the program, particicpants may propose an area of their work in the TA Studio to research and develop further. The intended result will be the development of a new (or revised) lesson plan, and the opportunity to test it on a group of young learners. These teaching artists will receive one-on-one mentoring with mentors from the TAS Staff, as well as feedback on one of their classroom days.

Program Schedule

Pre-Week

Thursday, November 3, 2022 Pre Work Assignment Pt. 1 Variable Core Course
Friday, November 4, 2022 Pre Work Assignment Pt. 2 Variable Core Course

Week 1: The Reasons We Teach & Focusing Our Work

Thursday, November 10, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course
Friday, November 11, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course

Week 2: Designing for Engagement

Thursday, November 17, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course
Friday, November 18, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course

The week of November 21 will have no group meetings.

This will instead be a time for reflection and one-on-one virtual meetings with TA Studio Mentors

Week 3: Building Learning Environments & Peer Teaching

Thursday, December 1, 2022 Remote Individual Work Variable Core Course
Friday, December 2, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course

Week 4: Peer Teaching, Making Learning Visible & Planning with Schools

Monday, December 5, 2022 Due: Residency Proposals 5pm Studio Residency
Tuesday, December 8, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course
Friday, December 9, 2022 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course

Interim Work: Cohort Meetings & Residencies

Wednesday, December 14, 2022 Zoom Meeting TBD Cohort Meeting
December 2022- February 2023 Window for Planning Meetings Variable Studio Residency
January 9 - March 24, 2023 Window for Residency Teaching 9:30am-3pm Studio Residency
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 Zoom Meeting TBD Cohort Meeting
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 Zoom Meeting TBD Cohort Meeting
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 Zoom Meeting TBD Cohort Meeting

Week 5: Practicum Reflections & Strategizing Trajectories

Friday, April 7, 2023 Zoom Meeting 9:30am-3pm Core Course
The 2021-22 Teaching Artist Studio Cohort
The 2021-22 Teaching Artist Studio Cohort
Translate »
Scroll to Top